British Swimming Names 38 Strong Olympic Team for London 2012

British Swimming has formally nominated a team of 38 athletes for this summer's Olympic Games in London to the British Olympic Association.

This initial selection of athletes for swimming follows completion of the 2012 British Gas Swimming Championships, which acted as the formal selection trials for the 2012 Olympics.

Those competitors who placed in the top two in their events in a time equal to or faster than the relevant FINA World Top 16 qualification performance gained automatic selection. The top four athletes in the 100 and 200 metres freestyle events were selected for the 4 x 100 metres and 4 x 200 metres freestyle relays respectively.

The 38 strong team, which comprises of 19 men and 19 women, includes reigning world champions Rebecca Adlington and Liam Tancock.

Michael Scott, British Swimming's national performance director, said: "This GB swimming team is a real mix of tried and tested experienced former Olympians together with an exciting crop of talented youngsters who will sample their first Olympics in London.

"This week has seen some impressive performances at the national championships but our job is far from done.

"Collectively we now have the time and opportunity to improve upon the performances this week to make sure we are as competitive as possible for when the rest of the world arrives in London in July."

For the remaining 14 spots available in the British team for London 2012, swimmers for events in the pool will have a second chance to gain selection at the British Gas ASA National Championships in Sheffield in June. If the top two athletes achieve the qualifying times in events where there are spaces available, they will be automatically selected for the Olympic team. Any further selections will be at the discretion of British Swimming.

The team named by British Swimming for the London 2012 Olympics is:


Rebecca Adlington (Nova Centurion, 400 metres & 800 metres Freestyle)

Sophie Allen (Stockport ITC, 200 metres Individual Medley)

Georgia Davies (Swansea ITC, 100 metres Backstroke)

Eleanor Faulkner (City of Sheffield, 800 metres Freestyle, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

Ellen Gandy (Nunawading, 100 metres & 200 metres Butterfly)

Fran Halsall (Loughborough ITC, 100 metres Butterfly, 100 metres Freestyle, 50 metres Freestyle)

Kate Haywood (Nunawading, 100 metres Breast Stroke)

Joanne Jackson (Loughborough ITC, 400 metres Freestyle, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

Jemma Lowe (Swansea ITC, 200 metres Butterfly)

Jessica Lloyd (City of Manchester, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

Caitlin McClatchey (Loughborough University, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

Hannah Miley (Garioch, 200 metres & 400 metres Individual Medley)

Keri-Anne Payne (Stockport ITC, 10km Open Water - previously selected) 

Elizabeth Simmonds (Loughborough ITC, 200 metres Backstroke)

Amy Smith (Loughborough University, 100 metres Freestyle, 50 metres Freestyle)

Gemma Spofforth (Florida Gators, 100 metres Backstroke)

Stacey Tadd (University of Bath, 200 metres Breast Stroke)

Rebecca Turner (City of Sheffield, 200 metres Freestyle, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

Aimee Willmott (Middlesbrough, 400 metres Individual Medley)


Robert Bale, (Stirling ITC, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

Craig Benson (Warrender, 100 metres Breast Stroke)

Adam Brown (Hatfield, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

Simon Burnett (Tuscon, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

Ross Davenport (Loughborough ITC, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

David Davies (City of Cardiff, 1,500 metres Freestyle)

James Disney-May (Auburn, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

Daniel Fogg (Loughborough ITC, 1,500 metres Freestyle)

Craig Gibbons (Maxwell, 4x100 metres Freestyle)

James Goddard (Stockport ITC, 200 metres Individual Medley)

Michael Jamieson (Bath ITC, 200 metres Breast Stroke)

Ieuan Lloyd (City of Cardiff, 4x200 metres Freestyle)

Roberto Pavoni (Loughborough ITC, 400 metres Individual Medley, 200 metres Butterfly),

Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow, 200 & 400 metres Freestyle)

Michael Rock (Stockport ITC, 100 metres Butterfly),

Joe Roebuck (Loughborough University, 200 & 400 metres Individual Medley, 200 metres Butterfly),

Daniel Sliwinski (Stockport ITC, 100 metres Breast Stroke),

Liam Tancock (Loughborough ITC, 100 metres Backstroke),

Andrew Willis (Bath ITC, 200 metres Breast Stroke)